Makiko Nishikaze

b. 1968 Wakayama, Japan

Makiko Nishikaze studied composition, first in Japan and then at Mills College, California, with Alvin Curran. She completed her studies at the Hochschule der Künste Berlin as a Meisterschülerin of Walter Zimmermann.

Grants, residencies and prizes (a selection):
Akademie Schloss Solitude (1999-2000), Künstlerhof Schreyahn (2001-02), Villa Aurora, Los Angeles (2003), Grant for Women Artists, Department for Cultural Affairs, Berlin (2004), Künstlerhäuser Worpswede (2006), Advancement Award, Akademie der Künste, Berlin (2007), Grant for Composition, Department for Cultural Affairs, Berlin (2010), Deutsches Studienzentrum, Venice (2011), Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf (2013), Cultural Fund of the Capital, Berlin (2013), Casa Baldi Olevano Romano, Deutsche Akademie Rom (2014), AIR Krems, Austria (2014), NES, Iceland (2014), Grant for Work and Research, Department for Cultural Affairs, Berlin (2015), artbellwald, Switzerland (2016)

Concert venues (a selection):
Chamber Music Festival Kanagawa, Japan (1997), The art of composition towards the 21st Century, Jerusalem (1998), Musica Silenciosa, Rio de Janeiro (1998), PianoPianoForteForte Festival, Berlin (1999), Brno International Music Festival, Czech Republic (1999), Eclat Festival of New Music (2000), Festival De Klankfabriek, Widooie, Belgium (2002), MaerzMusik, Festival für Aktuelle Musik, Berlin (2003, 2006, 2014),
New Music Marathon, Northwestern University, Chicago (2006), Festival Klangwerkstatt, Berlin (1995, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2013), Donaueschinger Musiktage (2007), Music We’d Like to Hear, London (2007, 2009, 2011), Music theater for children, Concert Hall Shizuoka, Japan (2009), Switzerland (2013), Ulrichsberger Kaleidophon, Austria (2013)
Ostrava Days, Czech Republic (2015), 70th anniversary of the death of Anton Webern, Mittersill, Austria (2015)

Makiko Nishikaze has for some time been concerned with music in its relationship to space. Here, the performance space itself is used as an instrument to unite visual and acoustic impressions in a single whole. Apart from traditional musical instruments she often integrates sounds using everyday objects and materials.

Her work is also focused on keyboard instruments. She has composed many pieces for piano, clavichord and harpsichord which she performs herself. There is no attempt to present new performance techniques, but rather to develop a different attitude towards sound itself. Using a conventional technique, she attempts to create many varied layers of timbre. Her compositions are not directed at some eccentric or stunning result but are rather intended as a guide towards a higher level of the ability to listen.

Photo: Philipp Lange

As a teacher, she gives seminars and workshops about experimental music for music students, school teachers, amateur musicians and children:
She was a lecturer at the Universität der Künste Berlin and from 2007 to 2009 taught composition at Wakayama University, Japan, as part of their education programme.
She was guest composer at Mills College, California in 2013 and 2014 and was a
guest composer-and-pianist at the Wiener Tagen der Zeitgenössischen Klaviermusik
(Contemporary-Piano Days, Vienna) 

Sie is also aktive as a performer. The latest Performances: Börstingen hören (2016)
westwind with Peter Ablinger (2016), Ellipse with Nikolaus Heyduck (2017) makokon with Christine Düwel, drawing and installation (2017), Lehre mich Schwäbisch! (2017)

Ellipse

 

                             

                              Lehre mich Schwäbisch!

Photos: Nikolaus Heyduck

CD recordings:
“st-mt” stabat mater dolorosa: ensemble socell 21, Makro-CD 1017 (2011)
walking, north, north: Ensemble L'art pour L'art, ArtistCD ARTS81182 (2009)
“trioaurora” Berlin meets Los Angeles: trio e-vent, ArtistCD ARTS81142 (2006)
pianopera I, II,: Piano, John McAlpine, EWR 0405 (2005)
aqua.piano.aerial: Piano, Makiko Nishikaze, EWR 0301 (2001)
“Sextet-Haiku-” haiku: Modern Art Sextet, edel 0085132 ACA (1996)

CV in Table Form

Portrait (German) by Matthias Entreß, 2010

short CV in Japanese

Makiko Nishikaze

geb. 1968 Wakayama, Japan

Makiko Nishikaze studierte Komposition zuerst in Japan, dann am Mills College, Kalifornien, bei Alvin Curran und an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin bei Walter Zimmermann. Sie hat das Studium als Meisterschülerin abgeschlossen.

An Preisen und Stipendien erhielt sie u.a. Akademie Schloss Solitude (1999-2000), Künstlerhof Schreyahn (2001-02), Villa Aurora in Los Angeles (2003), Künstlerinnenförderung der Senatsverwaltung Berlin (2004), Künstlerhäuser Worpswede (2006), Förderungspreis der Akademie der Künste (2007), Kompositionsstipendium der Kulturverwaltung des Berliner Senats (2010), Deutsches Studienzentrum Venedig (2011), Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf (2013), Hauptstadtkulturfonds (2013) Casa Baldi Olevano Romano, Deutsche Akademie Rom (2014), AIR Krems, Österreich (2014), NES, Iceland (2014), Arbeits- und Recherchestipendium der Kulturverwaltung des Berliner Senats (2015), artbellwald, Schweiz (2016)

Ihre Werke wurden bei Festival weltweit aufgeführt, u.a. bei:
Chamber Music Festival Kanagawa, Japan (1997), “The art of composition towards the 21st Century”, Jerusalem (1998) Musica Silenciosa, Rio de Janeiro (1998), Festival PianoPianoForteForte, Berlin (1999), The Brno International Music Festival, Tschechien
(1999), Eclat, Festival Neue Musik (2000), Festival De Klankfabriek, Widooie, Belgien (2002), MaerzMusik, Festival für Aktuelle Musik (2003, 2006, 2014) New Music Marathon Northwestern University, Chicago (2006) Festival Klangwerkstatt, Berlin (2006, 2009, 2011, 2013), Donaueschinger Musiktage (2007),“Music We’d Like to Hear”, London (2007, 2009, 2011), Musiktheater für Kinder, Concert Hall Shizuoka, Japan (2009), Seetaler Poesiesommer-Clavichordfestival, Schweiz (2013), Ulrichsberger Kaleidophon, Österreich (2013), Ostrava Days, Tschechien (2015), Anton Webern zum 70 Todestag, Mittersill, Österreich (2015)

Schon seit geraumer Zeit beschäftigt sie sich mit räumlicher Musik. Ein Raum ist für sie ein Klangkörper, der die akustische und visuelle Wahrnehmung zu einem ganzheitlichen Ereignis werden lässt. Oft werden Performativ-Aktionen mit Klangobjekten in das Konzept integriert.
Ein anderer wichtiger Schwerpunkt in ihrer Arbeit sind Tasteninstrumente. Makiko Nishikaze hat viele Stücke für Klavier, Clavichord und Cembalo komponiert und selbst aufgeführt. Es handelt sich darin nicht um den Versuch, eine neue Spieltechnik zu erfinden, sondern darum, eine neue musikalische Einstellung zu entwickeln. Mit gewohnter Spieltechnik versucht sie eine vielschichtige Klangfarbe zu schaffen. Ihre Kompositionen sind nicht auf exzentrische Resultate hin angelegt, sondern sie sollen als eine Art Kompass dienen auf dem Weg zu einem neuen Level der Fähigkeit zu hören.

Foto: Philipp Lange

Als Dozentin hat sie Seminare und Workshops zur Experimentalmusik an den unterschiedlichsten Einrichtungen für Musikstudenten, Schüler, Lehrer, Laienmusiker und Kinder durchgeführt.
Sie war Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität der Künste Berlin und unterrichtete 2007-2009 Komposition an der Wakayama University, Japan, in der Abteilung Schulmusik.
Als Gastkomponistin war sie 2013 am Mills College, Kalifornien, und 2014 bei den
Wiener Tagen der Zeitgenössischen Klaviermusik eingeladen.

Sie ist auch aktiv als Performerin. Die neueste Dokumente:Börstingen hören (2016)
westwind mit Peter Ablinger (2016), Ellipse mit Nikolaus Heyduck (2017) makokon mit Christine Düwel, Zeichnung und Installation (2017)

Ellipse

                               

                               makokon

Fotos: Nikolaus Heyduck

 Einspielungen ihrer Werke liegen auf CDs vor:
“st-mt” stabat mater dolorosa: ensemble socell 21, Makro-CD 1017 (2011)
walking, north, north: Ensemble L'art pour L'art, ArtistCD ARTS81182 (2009)
“trioaurora” Berlin meets Los Angeles: trio e-vent, ArtistCD ARTS81142 (2006)
pianopera I, II, Klavier: John McAlpine, EWR 0405 (2005)
aqua.piano.aerial, Klavier: Makiko Nishikaze, EWR 0301 (2001)
“Sextet-Haiku-” haiku: Modern Art Sextet, edel 0085132 ACA (1996)